Sad news for those of us who love screenshotting Instagram stories!
Instagram is testing a feature that will show users when someone else takes a screenshot of their story.
Users included in the test are getting a warning that the next time they take a screenshot of a friend’s story the friend will be able to see it, as shown below:
Good bye freedom to screenshot IG stories. 💔 Thank you, Instagram for the warning. pic.twitter.com/y0pEaVR0Jq— mulan (@__cajb) February 8, 2018
The Stories feature tells you who has watched your story when you tap on the “seen by” area in the bottom left corner.
With this new feature, a circle shutter icon will display next to the name of the account that has screen grabbed your content.
To be clear, the story owners won’t be alerted when someone takes a screenshot, they can only tell after manually checking the “seen by” list.
PSA: How you get notified on Instagram when someone took a screenshot of your Stories pic.twitter.com/Iua2QeyskF— iz reading On the Edge of Scandal 🍑 (@readbyher) February 11, 2018
Don't worry there are workarounds to avoid being detected though, as some Twitter users have pointed out.
You can set your phone to airplane mode and then screenshot or you can view the Instagram story via web browser on desktop and safely screenshot from there.